+27 10 597 0862

Engineering/Technical/Operations Director (MBA) – Ref: 608987 – Enshrine Candidate VP Marketing

Candidate location: South Africa, Gauteng

Home & other languages: Afrikaans, English

Designation: Engineering / Technical / Operations Director

Highest qualification type: Masters

University: Stellenbosch University

Discipline: Engineering Management

Years of experience: More than 10 years

Cost to company: R2.1 mil – R2.5 mil

Company size: 10001 +

Division: Engineering / Design

Seniority level: Director / VP / CXO


I believe that my strong technical and managerial experience and education will make me a very successful candidate within any organisation. The key strengths that I possess for success in any position include:

• I have successfully designed systems, managed designs and successfully delivered and installed them,
• Managed very large projects and delivered them safe, within budget and on schedule,
• I strive for continual excellence,
• I provide exceptional contributions to customer service for all customers.

With a Cum Laude degree in Engineering and a Diploma in Engineering covering all main subjects in Electronic, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, I fully understand the integration between the various disciplines of Engineering. I furthermore have extensive experience in the Civil Engineering field. Combined with a MBA I certainly understand the approach to provide service and deliver projects successfully.


Ethnicity: Caucasian/White

Nationality: South African

Highest Formal Qualification: MBA

University in another country: None in another country, but also at PU for CHE and Vaal Triangle Technikon

Other Formal Qualification: B.Ing Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Professional Registrations: Professional Engineer (ECSA)

Other Professional Designations/Registrations: 
Senior member of SAIEE / In possession of GCC

What is your current/ most recent job title?

Engineering / Technical / Operations Director

What is the primary purpose of this position?

Responsible for all winders and the electrical department, as these are high tech departments. Previously I was responsible for all engineering in the company

What are the core elements or functions that must operate effectively in order for you to achieve your primary purpose? 

My goal is to comply in full with the MHSA and not injure any person. All machines and systems must maintain a very high availability, no breakdowns and all to run within budgets. Finally to create an environment where people enjoy their work and function as one team.

What are some of your greatest achievements (When and how have you saved your employers time, money and resources)?

Was challenged to walk a big walking dragline over 34 kilometres, never been done before. I had to provide electrical power to walk the machine within a very tight budget, insufficient when following the normal procedures. Alternatives were introduced (30% of normal cost) to meet these targets within budget, on time, and those alternatives became an industry standard.

If you were to illuminate your skills and abilities along with your greater purpose and passions in life, how would you describe yourself?

I am a prefectionist and a self starter. I function well in teams, and have a vast experience in Engineering and Mining – hence I enjoy to transfer the knowledge to others. Whichever challenge comes my way, I have to find a solution and prove that the solution is a well thought through approach, involving others and sharing credit to those who deserve it.

What is the business title of your ideal position? 

Technical Director
Operations Director
VP Engineering

What are the key responsibilities and accountabilities of your ideal position?

To lead and provide strategies for successful and safe Engineering practices. Build strong teams who will deliver excellent, modern Engineering solutions covering all disciplines of Engineering. I am very good at steering teams in complex Engineering solutions, to find the best (financial and also technical) approaches to challenges

What are the manufacturing processes/ technologies that you have experience in relevant to your ideal position/ next career steps?

I have entensive experience in Project Management, from Conceptual studies, through Pre-Feasibility, Feasibility and Execution stages of a project. I have Marketing skills, contractual skills and extensive skills in underground and opencast mining, shaft sinking in different types of mines. I am an Electronic, Electrical and Mechanical Engineer, indepth Civil Engineering experience and therefore have an overall coverage of Engineering skills. I also have excellent financial skills and am good at motivating people and getting to work together

Describe your career in years of experience per sector/industry/commodity serviced:

Section Engineer on Opencast Mine – 3 years
Assistant Engineering Manager on Opencast Mine – 3 years
Engineering Manager on small Underground Mine – 2 years
Engineering Manager on large Underground Mine – 13 months
Senior Project Engineer – 3 years
Project Manager – 6,5 years
All of the above in one Mining company
Engineering Manager in contracting company – 17 months
Divisional/Operations/Technical Director in contracting company – 6 years

Describe the kind of company you would like to work for including the culture and values it should possess:

Would like to work for a company where people are valued, having a cultiure of respect for others, looking forward to come to work, have fun in the work environment. One should be allowed to show initiatives, clear goals must be available. A company which is stable, show good growth

What do you absolutely love doing?

Work in a project environment, where I can lead and steer a group of people covering various disciplines. I love to add direction to designs and solve complex problems, showing phenomenal results. I also enjoy to motivate people and create environments where people can explore and become daring, aiming to solve problems. I also love to travel and learn form others, to the extent of implementing learnings into my challenges

Motivation to move (please select): Job Insecurity

Location Preference: I am open to positions both nationally and internationally.